APC United Racing Series

Main Navigation

Official Series Logo
United Racing Series Logo
Press Release

Matt Pritiko Wins at Sauble Speedway

By: APC Racing | APC Racing Series | June 25, 2016 at 10:50pm
Twitter Facebook Youtube

Saturday June 25th the APC Series took on Sauble Speedway for the first time ever, after mother nature cancelled last season’s event. The top drivers in the province took to the tight confines of the Speedway for 100 laps of green flag action. It would be Matt Pritiko (#21) winning the event in the closest finish in APC Series history over Shawn Chenoweth (#89c).

The evening started with Bennett GM Pole Qualifying, which was won by Matt Pritiko (#21) with a 14.481, setting a new series benchmark track record. Shawn McGlynn (#23) qualified 2nd, while Marvin Freiburger (#37) qualified in the 3rd position. Jason Parker (#8) qualified 4th and Jamie Cox (#22) rounded out the top 5 in the 21 car field.

The 100 lap main event started with Shawn McGlynn on the pole after the invert, alongside Marvin Freiburger. Freiburger took the lead and led the opening segment. Shawn Chenoweth (#89c), who started 6th, moved into the top 3 by lap 2 and began pressing for the top positions. On lap 10 the Bennett GM Pole Winner, Matt Pritiko moved into the race lead with an inside line pass on Freiburger, this allowed Chenoweth to also move up a spot. On lap 25 Shawn Chenoweth moved his way around Matt Pritiko to take over the race lead. Just 2 laps later, contact between Tom Gibbons (#10) and Shae Gemmell (#3) on the front straightaway resulted in a caution. As a result of the caution, Andy Kamarth (#35) moved into the top 5 in his APC Series debut.

On the restart Chenoweth chose the high side and retained the race lead by getting a good jump. On lap 30 the #31 of Shawn McWhirter came to a stop in turn 2, resulting in a caution and a penalty for the driver. On lap 50 Tom Gibbons, who had made his way into the top 5, slowed and made his way to the pit area with mechanical issues. Lap 65 saw Matt Pritiko attempt to gain the race lead, but Chenoweth was able to defend on the high side. The caution flag would fly on lap 76 for a slowed Nick Goetz (#24). Just a few laps later contact between Steve Laking (#44) and Jamie Cox sent Cox far back in the field as he made an impressive save. Lap 79 saw Shawn McGlynn (#23) climb over the side of Rick Burbridge (#2), resulting in the races 4th caution flag. The ensuing restart did not go green as Mat Box (#27) spun in turn 2. 

The race would go green from this point as Shawn Chenoweth led Matt Pritiko and Jason Parker. Pritiko made several attempts to take over the race lead but Chenoweth held strong, and even defended from the high side numerous times. After suffering from brake issues, Dale Shaw (#83) was able to move into the top 5. The last lap had fans on their feet as Pritiko got under Chenoweth off of turn 4 and narrowly beat him to the line by inches, scoring his first career APC Series win. Chenoweth claimed 2nd, Parker 3rd, Shaw 4th and Kamrath 5th.

The next event for the APC Series is this coming Friday, July 1st at Delaware Speedway for the Thames OK Tire Canada Day 100. The event gets started at 7:30pm and a fireworks show will follow the event. Advanced tickets for the race can be purchased on the Delaware Speedway website at www.DelawareSpeedway.com.

- Photos credit Thompson Photography

Copyright © 2021 United Racing Series