APC United Racing Series

Main Navigation

Official Series Logo
United Racing Series Logo

Pritiko Wins in Controversial Finish

By: Ryan Dyson | APC Racing Series | June 08, 2019 at 11:15pm
Twitter Facebook Youtube

Millgrove, ON - The Interstate Batteries 100, round two of ten on the 2019 season, saw 28 Pro Late Models in attendance and ready to go to battle at the tight bullring. After Jordan Sims opened the season with a victory three weeks prior, fans, drivers, and media were all eager to see what the second race on the tour brought.

Qualifying would open the evening as all drivers were shooting for a top ten starting spot to get in the inversion, while also chasing Brandon Watson’s track record of 14.855. Jordan Sims would set the bar high early after fixing fuel related issues that plagued the team in practice. In the final group, Treyten Lapcevich would lay down the fastest time with a 15.043 and knock Sims off the pole. Fitzpatrick would also bump Sims who ended up timing in third quickest.

The Interstate Batteries 100 started with Andy Kamrath on the pole but it was short lived as he went around on the front straightaway and the first caution would fly before the field reached turn one. Jake Sheridan led the early portion of the race before JR Fitzpatrick took the top spot on lap 32. The second caution of the race came on lap 33 when Shawn McGlynn went around in turn one, ending a green flag run that saw the majority of the field nose to tail.

Shae Gemmell went around after contact on the ensuing restart while running inside the top 10, bringing out the yellow for the third time. 37 laps into the event sparks flew as Jordan Howse went up and over Jason Parker on the back straightaway. Parker showed his displeasure with Danny Benedict under the yellow, making contact with the 54 machine.

A series of cautions on lap 38 slowed the race’s pace, with the most notable being for a multi-car incident on the front straightaway causing heavy damage to several cars including points leader Jordan Sims and Patrick Freel. The race would get going green once again until lap 43 when Shae Gemmell and Andy Kamrath exchanged shots, with Gemmell going around. 56 laps into the race Matt Pritiko took over the top spot with Treyten Lapcevich following through, shuffling Fitzpatrick to third.

A long green flag run saw Pritiko put several cars a lap down as Lapcevich trailed behind without losing touch. The yellow came out on lap 87 when Gemmell and Junior Farrelly got together in turn one. JR Fitzpatrick made a big move to take the race lead on lap 88 with a inside line move on Pritiko from third. The ninth caution flag come out on lap 90 when several cars tangled on the front straightaway including Blair Wickett, Treyten Lapcevich, and Gord Shepherd, who had all been running in the top ten.

Lap 90 was halted once again as Hudson Nagy tangled with Andrew Gresel in turn one. The restart saw Matt Pritiko begin to apply pressure for the lead, but just as he appeared to line up his move the caution came out for the final time on lap 96. Fitzpatrick held the lead until the final corner of the final lap when Matt Pritiko made contact and Fitzpatrick went around. Billy Schwartzenburg and Josh Stade would sneak through the smoke to round off the podium spots.

The next event for the APC United Late Model Series is Saturday, June 22nd when the tour makes its first of two appearances at Jukasa Motor Speedway in Hagersville, Ontario. More information on the event can be found on www.APCRacingSeries.com and JukasaMotorSpeedway.com

Ryan Dyson - APC Series PR


Photos by Dave Franks Photography

Copyright © 2021 United Racing Series