APC United Racing Series

Main Navigation

Official Series Logo
United Racing Series Logo

Fitzpatrick Wins, Pritiko the Champion

By: Ryan Dyson | APC Racing Series | September 15, 2019 at 12:35am
Twitter Facebook Youtube

DELAWARE, ON – One of the most historic seasons thus far for the APC United Late Model Series presented by Grisdale Racing Enterprises came to a conclusion at Delaware Speedway for the annual running of the Great Canadian Race, the 100 Kellogg Lane Championship Race presented by Maple City Tire. Another full field of Pro Late Models was on hand to cap off a season that saw new faces in victory lane, tough battles throughout the field, wild finishes and so much more.

Group qualifying would see Jordan Sims take the pole position over Cole Powell and Ryan Kimball as an impressive 32 cars would take time.

The 100 Kellogg Lane Championship Race presented by Maple City Tire started with Jordan Sims on the pole alongside Ryan Kimball with a full field of hungry drivers behind looking to finish their season on a high note. Sims would lead the opening lap and jump to a lead right away as former rookie of the year, Jake Sheridan, closed in behind. Sheridan would take the lead on lap five and open up a gap to the field behind.

The first yellow flag of the race came on lap 24 when Patrick Freel went around in turn three. Sheridan would control the race again on the restart before the yellow was shown again on lap 30 as Piper Adams went around. Cole Powell moved into the top five on lap 34 and worked to close the margin to those in front of him. On lap 37, Shae Gemmell took the race lead as Sheridan slid back with an apparent problem on his #52 machine.

Lap 47 saw the yellow shown for the third time as Stan Adams went around in turn two after a shower of sparks from beneath his car. Cole Powell used the ensuing restart to move into second as Andrew Gresel trailed behind, all while Shae Gemmell raced up front looking for his second career victory. A series of cautions between laps 47 and 58 slowed the race pace as attrition began to take its tole on the field.

Another series of yellow flags halted the races pace between laps 64 and 68 as several cars would retire from the race while Shae Gemmell remained in front of Cole Powell up front. Cole Powell would take the lead on lap 68 as Gemmell slipped back a handful of spots. The yellow was shown on lap 80 when JR Fitzpatrick went around on the back straightaway. Under the yellow flag Treyten Lapcevich would come down pit road, surrendering his third place position on the track.

The final 10 laps of the event were hectic as several drivers tangled, including Andrew Gresel sliding hard into the end of the pit wall while making a pass for the race lead after contact with Cole Powell. Several drivers would run out of fuel in the closing laps, with the majority able to take a splash and go and rejoin the race. In the end it would be JR Fitzpatrick winning the race after holding off Dale Shaw and Shae Gemmell.

Matt Pritiko would be crowned the 2019 series champion after an incredible season that saw the 21 team visit victory lane three times.

During the offseason race fans are encouraged to stay tuned to APC Series social media outlets as well as www.APCRacingSeries.com for all the latest news including the highly anticipated 2020 schedule. With thanks to all of the amazing marketing partners, race fans and teams the 2019 season saw record numbers in terms of car counts, attendance, and race statistics. All attention now turns to the annual APC Series championship banquet where the success of all teams will be honoured.

Copyright © 2021 United Racing Series