APC United Racing Series

Main Navigation

Official Series Logo
United Racing Series Logo
Press Release

Chenoweth Scores First Win of 2016

By: Ryan Dyson | APC Racing Series | July 16, 2016 at 11:30pm
Twitter Facebook Youtube

On Saturday July 16th, 2016 the APC Series made its annual visit to the tough â…“ mile of Peterborough Speedway, located just outside of the town of Peterborough. The track often known for its tight turns, single groove and close quarters racing played host to an eventful evening of racing that will have fans raving for time to come. After an up and down race that saw drivers going from the front to the rear, Shawn Chenoweth was able to park his number 89c in Royal Purple Victory Lane, ahead of Billy Schwartzenburg and Andrew Gresel.

The night started with Bennett GM Pole Qualifying, which was won by Dale Shaw, who barely missed the track record. In post-qualifying inspection, Shaw and Andrew Gresel, who qualified 6th, were found to have violations and disqualified. This handed the Pole Award to Steve Laking, who also led both of the practice sessions earlier in the day. Shawn Chenoweth, Jamie Cox, Shawn McWhirter, and Derek Lynch rounded out the top 5 spots.

In the 100 lap main event, the field was led to the green flag by local driver Derek Lynch, alongside Shawn McWhirter, following the pill draw. McWhirter jumped to the early race lead, where he would stay for a large portion of the race. 17 laps into the event, Shawn Chenoweth moved into the top 3 with a pass on Steve Laking. On lap 31, Shawn Chenoweth made a three wide pass on Jamie Cox, and a lapped car of Paighton Jacobs to advance to the 2nd spot. 

The first caution of the race came out on lap 44 for a spin by Josh Stade, collecting the #24 of Nick Goetz and the #86 of Billy Schwartzenburg. All drivers would resume the race with minimal damage. The race’s second caution came out on lap 50 as Tom Gibbons locked up the brakes and slid into the turn 1 wall, resulting in very minor damage. The third caution came on the ensuing restart, as Shawn Chenoweth was spun off of turn 2 by the #22 of jamie Cox. Several cars were collected in this incident, all with mostly minor damage. On lap 52 the #71 of Dan McHattie was turned entering turn 3, resulting in the races 4th caution flag. 

On lap 54 the caution flew once again, this time for debris off of Jason Parker’s #8. On lap 55 Dan McHattie’s troubles continued as he made hard contact with the turn 3 wall, collecting Shae Gemmell and Nick Goetz. On the ensuing restart, Shawn McWhirter, while still in the lead, was sent spinning in turn 4 while racing Dale Shaw. Several cars stacked up as they attempted to avoid the spun driver. As a result of the caution, Billy Schwartzenburg assumed the race lead. 

On lap 73, Shawn Chenoweth re-entered the top 3, after his early race incident that sent him to the rear. On lap 77 the caution came out for Shawn McGlynn getting turned by the race leaders, as he continued to race them hard. 80 laps into the 100 lap event, Shawn Chenoweth took over the race lead, passing Schwartzenburg. 87 laps in, the #87 of Willie Reyns spun, bringing out the race’s 8th caution. One lap later, Shawn McWhirter’s day ended as he made hard contact with the turn 1 wall. On lap 94 Mat Box spun, while battling for position in the top 5, resulting in a crash behind that saw Tom Gibbons climb the wall in a very violent crash. Nick Goetz was also collected in the incident, ending his race. The 11th and final caution came out on the restart as Shae Gemmell spun on the back straightaway.

The restart would be the final one as Shawn Chenoweth got a good jump on the field, going on to win his first race of the 2016 season. Billy Schwartzenburg finished a career best 2nd, and points leader Andrew Gresel finished 3rd. 

The next event for the APC Series is July 30th at Sauble Speedway, for the Spira Fire Protection 100. Ontario’s best pro late model drivers will make the trip up north for the second time this season, after visiting back on June 25th. More information can be found on www.APCRacingSeries.com

Photos by Thompson Photography

Copyright © 2021 United Racing Series