APC United Racing Series

Main Navigation

Official Series Logo
United Racing Series Logo

2016 Championship Banquet

By: Jamie Dyson | APC Racing Series | October 31, 2016 at 10:25am
Twitter Facebook Youtube

The 2016 APC Series season officially came to an end with the annual awards banquet that took place on October 22nd at the 4 points by Sheraton in London ON.  It was a spectacular evening that began with a fantastic dinner. Once the dinner portion of the evening was over the event kicked into high gear with the award portion of the night. The awards ceremony kicked off with a season recap video that highlighted all the thrills and spills of 9 spectacular races throughout the 2016 summer and had the crowd on the edge of their seats.

The event then advanced into handing out some hardware. First, all sponsors were thanked for their contributions to the 16’ season with a plaque. Once all the sponsors were thanked the crowd of more than 200 people turned their attention to the video screens where the 2016 Rookie of the Year Shae Gemmell was honoured and was brought to the stage to officially accept the award, presented to him by series tech director Daryl Timmermans. The series then honoured 15th – 6th in the final points standings, bringing each to the stage to accept their plaque for their achievements. 

Once the 6th place award was handed out, without hesitation the crowd once again turned their attention the video screens where 5th – 2nd were honoured with a short video on their accomplishments throughout the 2016 season. 3rd place finisher Shawn Chenoweth and second place finisher Jamie Cox both gave a short speech thanking everyone who made their season possible and congratulated the 2016 Champion Andrew Gresel.

It was now time to congratulate the 2016 Champion. A recap video went through the champion’s season race by race, highlighting his 5 wins, 6 top 5s, and 3 poles. Once the video was completed the 2016 Champion, Andrew Gresel, was welcomed to the stage with a loud roar of the audience. Andrew thanked everyone who made the season possible in a short speech, including his sponsors, family, friends and crew. Once Andrew completed his speech the top 5 were then asked to come back up to the stage where the evening’s photographer, Denise Reed, was able to capture some shots.

The stage then cleared of the drivers and MC on the evening Jamie Maudsley then invited series president Luke Ramsey to the mic. Luke proceeded to present a new award for the series called the APC Series Contributor Award. Luke explained the meaning behind the award, being to thank someone who volunteers their time to make the series what it is and help out anyway possible. The inaugural recipients of the award would be Art & Les Gemmell who were in shock as they came to the stage, both with a huge smile on their face as they posed for a picture with their plaque. Once the new award was accepted Luke had some final words thanking everyone for a great 2016 season and attending the annual banquet. Luke also gave some insight into the 2017 race season informing everyone of the new advisory council that has been formed that will be a group of members who will meet to make decisions for the series.

The final order of business on the evening was to hand out all the door prizes contributed by the great sponsors of the series. The big winner of the door prizes was Jason Parker as he walked away with a brand new 604 crate motor courtesy of APC & Bennett GM. Once the prizes were given away business was done for the evening and the crowd had some fun with the live DJ. All in all it was a spectacular evening enjoyed by all. Congratulations to all prize recipients, thank you to all the sponsors for the support all season long, thank you to Red Hot entertainment for being the entertainment provider on the evening, ourExpression studio for providing the video production on the evening and all season long, RBC on being the wine sponsor, 4 points by Sheraton for being a great host, and thank you to everyone else who was involved with the series this season. We look forward to seeing you in 2017!

Copyright © 2021 United Racing Series